Great expectation dating service lawsuit
If a Facebook user clicks 'No, thanks' on the partner site notification, Facebook does not use the data and deletes it from its servers.
Separately, before Facebook can determine whether the user is logged in, some data may be transferred from the participating site to Facebook.
As soon as you visit the sites in the pilot program (Yelp, Pandora, and Microsoft Docs) the sites can access your name, your picture, your gender, your current location, your list of friends, all the Pages you have Liked—everything Facebook classifies as public information.
The EFF noted that "For users that have not opted out, Instant Personalization is instant data leakage.
Information such as purchases made and games played were published in the user's news feed.
An informative notice about this action appeared on the third party site and gave the user the opportunity to cancel it, and the user could also cancel it on Facebook.
It was not a security breach and did not compromise user data in any way.
Because the code that was released powers only Facebook user interface, it offers no useful insight into the inner workings of Facebook.